Jury 2019

The president of the competition’s jury was Dr Miklós Kállay, professor emeritus at Saint Steven University, while its vice-president was Miklós Niszkács, Vice-president of the Hungarian Wine Academy. Emese Domián (DipWSET) acted as specialist advisor consultant to the three-member board.
The wines submitted to the eight categories were evaluated and juried by DipWSET (Wine and Spirit Education Trust) certified experts, wine writers, instructors, wine traders and sommeliers.
The committees were chaired by Dr Gabriella Mészáros – DipWSET, Director of the Wine College of Budapest –, Ottó Légli – winemaker and President of the National Council of Wine Communities – and Miklós Niszkács – wine writer and Vice-president of the Hungarian Wine Academy.

Other members of the jury were:

  • László Bálint (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Sándor Ember (winemaker)
  • Attila Fiáth, dr. (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Tamás Freund, dr. (member of the Hungarian Wine Academy, vice-president of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (2017)
  • János Frittmann (winemaker)
  • Ádám Hébenstreit (wine trader)
  • Gergely Hidegkuti (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Csaba Kató (wine expert)
  • György Kiss (specialist instructor)
  • Anna Komoróczki (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Mihály Konkoly, dr. (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • József Kosárka, dr. (wine writer)
  • Gábor Laczkó (winemaker)
  • Ágnes Németh (wine writer)
  • Robert Smyth (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Csilla  Sebestyén (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Sue Tolson (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Imre Szakács-Orha (international wine academician (DipWSET)
  • Péter Tüü (sommelier)

The wines were evaluated based on the positive evaluation method of 100 points that was developed by U.I.O.E. and O.I.V. and recommended by the Les Grands Concours Internationaux de Vins et Spiritueux.