Jury 2017

The president of the competition’s jury was Dr Miklós Kállay, professor emeritus at Saint Steven University, while its vice-president was Miklós Niszkács, Vice-president of the Hungarian Wine Academy. Zoltán Sánta (DipWSET, senior instructor at the Wine College of Budapest) acted as specialist advisor consultant to the three-member board.
The wines submitted to the eight categories were evaluated and juried by DipWSET (Wine and Spirit Education Trust) certified experts, wine writers, instructors, wine traders and sommeliers.
The committees were chaired by Dr Gabriella Mészáros – DipWSET, Director of the Wine College of Budapest –, Ottó Légli – winemaker and President of the National Council of Wine Communities – and Miklós Niszkács – wine writer and Vice-president of the Hungarian Wine Academy.

Other members of the jury were:
•    László Bálint (international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Emese Domián (international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Tamás Freund (member of the Hungarian Wine Academy, vice-president of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (2017)
•    János Frittmann (winemaker)
•    Ádám Hébenstreit (wine trader)
•    Gergely Hidegkuti (viticulture and oenology consultant, international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Csaba Kató (wine expert, head of the Table Society for Hungarian Viniculture)
•    Anna Komoróczki (wine trader, international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Szabolcs Lukács (Hungarian sommelier champion)
•    Ágnes Németh (wine writer, former editor-in-chief of VinCE magazine)
•    Csilla Sebestyén (sommelier, international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Robert Smyth (wine writer, international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Imre Szakács- Orha (international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Mátyás Szik (eternal Hungarian sommelier champion)
•    Sue Tolson (wine writer, international wine academician (DipWSET)
•    Béla Vállai (sommelier)
•    Ivett Vancsik (wine trader, wine writer, international wine academician (DipWSET)

The wines were evaluated based on the positive evaluation method of 100 points that was developed by U.I.O.E. and O.I.V. and recommended by the Les Grands Concours Internationaux de Vins et Spiritueux.